Director of Safety Services Daniel J. Trelka is pleased to announce that Investigator Brice Lippert has been selected as the Waterloo Exchange Club's 2012 Officer of the Year.  Investigator Lippert was honored at the Waterloo Exchange Club's luncheon on Monday, February 4, 2013.

Investigator Lippert was recommended for the award due to his diligent work in the Investigative Division and for his efforts in organizing, implementing, and advising the Cedar Valley Crime Stoppers. 

Investigator Lippert graduated from Cedar Falls High School in 1997 and attended the University of Northern Iowa.  In 2001 he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Criminology and in Sociology.  In August 2002 he was hired by the Waterloo Police Department.  In his first five years with the department he worked third shift patrol and was also a Field Training Officer.  In 2008 he was assigned to the Investigative Division.  Inv Lippert is a Defensive Tactics Instructor with the department and serves as the law enforcement liaison with the Cedar Valley Crime Stoppers. 

Captain Tim Pillack
Waterloo Police

Since 1970 there have been 38 different officers honored as "Officer of the Year".  The remaining officers are listed below:

Year Honored Officer Year Honored Officer
    2011 Randy Hammitt
2010 Spencer Gann 2009 Jeff Tyler
2008 Gregory Kemp 2007 Rob Camarata
2006 Dave Bovy 2005 Matt McGeough
2004 Rob Duncan 2003 Robert Michael
2002 Steve Bagenstos 2001 Chris Gergen
2000 Cliff Caughron 1999 Verl "Skip" Johnson
1998 Jeffrey Harrington 1997 Tina Lathrop
1996 Michael McNamee 1995 Randy Chapman
1994 Jimmie Schmidt 1993 Scott Pagel
1992 Carroll Keinol 1991 Larry Coffin
1990 Cheryl Rathe 1989 Carl Teske
1988 Scott Lake 1987 Becky Christie
1986 Duane Foutch 1985 Buck Clark
1984 Rick Harned 1983 Thomas Shimp
1982 John Woods 1981 Richard Boesen
1980 A. Lynn Moller 1979 Carroll Keinol
1978 Brian Corcoran 1977 Darwin Cunningham
1976 Richard Arends 1975 Larry Thompson
1974 Michael Wagner 1970 Larry Dolan