Director of Safety Services Daniel J. Trelka is pleased to announce that Officer Randy Hammitt has been
selected as the Waterloo Exchange Club's 2011 Officer of the Year.  Officer Hammitt will be honored at
the Exchange Club's luncheon on Monday, February 6, 2012.

Officer Hammitt graduated from Webster City High School and has an AA degree in Police Science from
Western Iowa Tech. He was hired by the Waterloo Police Department in 1983. Officer Hammitt has worked in Patrol, on the Community Action Team and the Tri-County Drug Enforcement Task Force. He is currently assigned to Watch 1 Patrol.

Officer Hammitt is a perfect example of the department's Community Policing initiative. He has a good working relationship with many businesses and citizens in Waterloo. His knowledge and experience is an asset to the Police Department and the Citizens of Waterloo.

Officer Hammitt lives on a farm near Fairbank and runs his own sawmill. He is a member of the Lord of Harvest Lutheran Church. He enjoys spending time with his kids and keeping fit by "cross training."
He is currently training for a half marathon and his goal is to run a marathon before he retires.


Captain Tim Pillack
Waterloo Police

Since 1970 there have been 37 different officers honored as "Officer of the Year".  The remaining officers
are listed below:

Year Honored Officer Year Honored Officer
2010 Spencer Gann 2009 Jeff Tyler
2008 Gregory Kemp 2007 Rob Camarata
2006 Dave Bovy 2005 Matt McGeough
2004 Rob Duncan 2003 Robert Michael
2002 Steve Bagenstos 2001 Chris Gergen
2000 Cliff Caughron 1999 Verl "Skip" Johnson
1998 Jeffrey Harrington 1997 Tina Lathrop
1996 Michael McNamee 1995 Randy Chapman
1994 Jimmie Schmidt 1993 Scott Pagel
1992 Carroll Keinol 1991 Larry Coffin
1990 Cheryl Rathe 1989 Carl Teske
1988 Scott Lake 1987 Becky Christie
1986 Duane Foutch 1985 Buck Clark
1984 Rick Harned 1983 Thomas Shimp
1982 John Woods 1981 Richard Boesen
1980 A. Lynn Moller 1979 Carroll Keinol
1978 Brian Corcoran 1977 Darwin Cunningham
1976 Richard Arends 1975 Larry Thompson
1974 Michael Wagner 1970 Larry Dolan